Skip to content ↓
St Andrew's College Dublin St Andrew's College Dublin

Chess News

Three St Andrew's Teams compete in Leinster Chess League

On Friday 29 November, St Andrew's College had three teams competing in the first round of the Leinster Schools' Chess Leagues in Patrician Secondary School, Newbridge. 

Our Senior A Team, which consisted of Ross Beatty (Sixth Year), Eoghan O'Mahony (Transition Year), Brian Ward (Transitioni Year), Philip Talbot (Transition Year) and Daire Malone (Transition Year) played games against Portmarnock Community School, St Benildus College,  Ardgillan College and Colaiste Eoin. They finished ninth  out of 16 teams in the Senior Category and were only one point away from qualifying for the top division in the next round. 

Our Senior B Team which consisted of Matthew O'Regan (Second Year), Leela Brook (Transition Year), Aoife Haines (Transition Year) and Emilie Higgins (Transitioni Year) played games against Colaiste Eoin, Colaiste Eanna, Portmarnock Community School and Gonzaga College. They finished thirteenth in the Senior Category out of 16 teams. 

Our Junior team which had two Second Year students and five First Year students:  Stanislav Saminov, Conor McFadyen, Fionn Lynch, Mark O'Connor, Scott Lowry, Maelys Raud and Ruby Gargan. They played games against PDSL Bagenalstown, Colaiste Eanna, Ardgillan College and St Benildus College. They finished eighteenth in the Junior Category out of twenty-eight teams. 

All three teams will compete again in the next round of the Leinster Schools' Chess Leagues in March/April 2020.